Adventure in the forest

September 10, 2007

We have some wood out behind our house, not on our property but we have permission to go in them. Me and Zach went back thelre today and found a big puddle (or a very small pond). We’ve never really explored the woods back there, mainly because we don’t actually have permission to go more than about 30 feet into the woods, since that’s all the guy we have permission from owns. Anyway, we find this puddle/pond, and decide to throw logs out into it and make a way to get across. We could just walk around it, but what’s the fun of that? So there was already a log jutting out into the water, and it was a good place to start, since it started farther back than the mud on the edge of the puddle pond went. So me and Zach grab this log, one on each end, and I’m backing up onto the log. suddenly, my balanceĀ faltered. Uh oh. I could of corrected it if I hadn’t been carrying a log with me. But I was carrying a log with me. So it flashes through my mind that these are new shoes, that the mud is probably around two inches deep, that it’s the nasty kind of mud that never dried no matter how long you left it in the sun and that smelled horrible, and the worst thing that could happen is that the mud is actually very shallow but slippery, so I could slip and fall and get very muddy. So I take a very controlled jump. It was a beautiful jump, precicely angles to make sure that I won’t fall, but also balanced so that if I did fall, I would fall forward and catch myself with my hands. However, my calculations where incorrect. The jump was great, but I had the wrong data input. The shoes where new, but I was wrong about the mud. The best way I can convey the essence of the sound is swapthwuthwuthwuthwuisssssssssshhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. I stared blankly at my legs. I could see down to about 5 inches below my neighs, but the rest of my leg had dissapeared. Where were they? Suddenly it dawned on me. My mouth dropped open. The mud was a lot deeper than I thought.

So ya, that was our adventure in the forest. I walked home in my socks so the mud wouldn’t seep into the inside of my shoes. I got home and took a loooong shower. Then I wrote this, while the memory was fresh in my mind. C ya. I gotta do some school.

Leave a Reply

